The Mixed Tape


What Are the Greatest Performances Ever? by Nolan Wilson Goff

So we took a look at the characters of The Road. This got me thinking:

I was blown away by Viggo Mortensen’s performance in The Road, but I found myself asking, what other great performances impacted me and our readers?

Maybe it was Heath Ledger‘s haunting portrayal of The Joker, the classic performance of James Dean in Rebel Without a Cause, or Kate Winslet in Titanic.

Culture Shock - The Joker-thumbrebel-without-james-dean_ljumpdress

Whatever it is,

What do you think are the greatest performances of all time?

Comment below.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well I must agree that Heath Ledger’s Joker was truly amazing. It is one of my favorite characters I have ever watched in film and it had a huge impact on me wanting to become an actor. Some other great performances that have impacted me are…

Leonardo DiCaprio in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape:
Leonardo DiCaprio plays a mentally handicap child and does a great job of bringing that character to life. The challenges of playing a character with such disabilities would certainly be tough for anyone but I believe he nailed the character in this particular film. Because I have lived with someone who is mentally handicap I know the challenges and struggles it presents within a family and Leonardo Dicaprio’s portrayal of the character truly reminded me of my own experiences within my family. It was definitely one of the most moving performances I have seen and it will always be one of my favorites.

Russell Crowe in A Beautiful Mind:
Again this is another performance in which the character had mental disabilities but I think one of the great achievements in the character is the fact that the audience doesn’t know of the mental disorder until the story reveals it to us. Russell Crowe didn’t go overboard and give away the big secret but instead throughout the movie gave subtle hints at what was really going on in inside his character’s mind. It is a very memorable performance.

Johnny Depp:
Johnny Depp is one of my two favorite actors and therefore I have several favorite performances by Johnny Depp in which I believe to be some of the best. A couple of my favorite performances by Johnny Depp were in films such as Finding Neverland, The Secret Window, Benny and Joon, Ed Wood, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and Pirates of the Caribbean (quite surprising to find something so interesting to watch in a big budget Disney film). There are many other films with Johnny Depp in them that I could list but these will suffice. Johnny Depp’s ability to become such quirky and “out there” characters truly mesmerizes me and captivates me. He has an amazing ability to create original performances that many people are drawn to. This is why I see his performances and some of the best in film history.

Heath Ledger:
Heath Ledger is my other favorite actor, hence I am more biased towards his films but as mentioned earlier Heath Ledger as the Joker was incredible but with the success of that film everyone knows of his wonderful performance. However, some of his lesser known performances may come close to equaling his disturbing and yet incredibly fun Joker, in terms of intriguing the audience and enthralling movie lovers. In films such as Candy and his short appearance in Monster’s Ball we get a glimpse of the darker side of his performance ability before his infamous Joker was released upon the world. In Brokeback Mountain, Lords of Dogtown and I’m Not There we see Heath Ledger transform himself into the character and then deliver very unique performances. Heath Ledger also had an on screen presence and charisma that is very hard to match and it is a tragedy we lost such a talented actor at such a young age. He would have certainly given many more performances that would be loved by millions.

Comment by Tyler Corad

Robert De Niro – Raging Bull/Taxi Driver
Marlon Brando – On the Waterfront
Jack Nicholson – One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
Al Pacino – Dog Day Afternoon
Dustin Hoffman – Midnight Cowboy/Rain Man
Ellen Burstyn – Requiem for a Dream
Meryl Streep – Sophie’s Choice
Gloria Swanson – Sunset Blvd.
Anthony Hopkins – The Silence of the Lambs
Daniel Day-Lewis – My Left Foot/There Will Be Blood
Dennis Hopper – Blue Velvet

Comment by Taylor Rae

i like this picture

Comment by David_leejr




Leave a Reply

