The Mixed Tape


5 albums that altered my music taste forever… by matthewgoodnght

-By Matt Perdue-

Five albums form this past decade that have changed and formulated my taste in music to what it is today:

Enema of the State (1999) – Blink-182

Okay, so this 1999 release hardly makes it into this last ten years, but well worth mentioning. Blink-182 was the first band I ever fell in love with, their punk rock riffs, pissed-of n’ sassy attitude, and crude humor made a place in my heart for years to come. To this day they’re still one of my favorite bands. If you listened and liked this album, check out their proceeding album Take Off Your Pants and Jacket.

In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (2003) – Coheed and Cambria

In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 was my introduction to Coheed and Cambria, and it couldn’t have been any better of one. Coheed is a progressive rock band known for the main singer’s high-pitched vocals and melodic guitar riffs. Behind their enigmatic lyrics lies a story, a space-opera epic about the lives of Coheed and Cambria and their doomed children. Each song and album is in chronological order telling this story known as The Amory Wars. With their unique sound, Coheed and Cambria has much more to offer than you’d ever expect from your typical band of musicians. If you like what you hear, check out their freshman album The Second Stage Turbine Blade, and keep an eye out for their upcoming “prequel” album The Year of the Black Rainbow.

Son I Loved You at your Darkest (2005) – As Cities Burn

I was never a fan of screamo, metalcore, or hardcore music until my best friend introduced me to As Cities Burn, a screamo/alternative rock band that acted as my gateway into finding a taste for music of the sort. As Cities Burn acted as a middle-ground between what I liked and what I didn’t have a taste for: screamo. For someone who is not into screamo, Son I Loved You at Your Darkest is a very listenable sound. They do not hurt your ears or tarnish your heart like say Job for a Cowboy, but they scream enough for your musical heart to develop a taste for screamo. If you dig this and get a taste for it, check out the band Blessthefall for a very gentle “step up”, from there you can explore what you do or don’t like.

Kaleidoscope (2009) – DJ Tiesto

For the most the decade, all of the above has summed my taste in music until this fall, when a good friend of The Mixed Tape, DJ Flavio, introduced me to DJ Tiesto with his latest album: Kaleidoscope. Most of the songs on the album being feats with other artists, this album will sure have something you like on it, whether it be pop, electro, or trans, DJ Tiesto will keep you dancing till the sun comes up. Along with this discover of electro and techno, I have discovered other artists including Deadmau5 and pretty much anything I can dance to.

Honorable Mentions

Fortress (2008) – Protest the Hero

A Canadian, calculated metal/rock band with beautiful, operatic vocals who created an album I can’t stop listening to.

Hot Fuss (2004) – The Killers

This was my in to indie rock and roll, and is one of my top four favorite bands of all time, and will probably be come known as one of the greatest bands ever.

Give Up (2003) – The Postal Service

One of those albums that just has a spot in your heart for years to come.

What albums impacted you this decade? Comment below.

-Matt

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

